SPORTS AWARDS 2017 - 2018

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest sports award given for most outstanding performance in the field of sports in India.

As of 2017, all Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna recipients will receive Rs. 7.5 lakhs in cash, a citation and a medal.

The evaluation is done for various international sporting events such as the Olympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and Paralympic Games.

First given in the year: 1991-92

P. V. Sindhu        - Badminton
Sakshi Malik      - Wrestling
Dipa Karmakar  - Gymnastics
Jitu Rai              - Shooting

Devendra Jhajharia    - Para Athlete
Sardara Singh            - Hockey

Arjuna Award

This award is given to a sportsperson who has consistently exhibited outstanding performance for four years.

All Arjuna Awardees receive a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakhs, a certificate, and statuettes.

First given in the year:  1961


Ms. V.J. Surekha        - Archery
Ms. Khushbir Kaur    - Athletics
Mr. Arokia Rajiv       - Athletics
Ms. Prasanthi Singh  - Basketball
Sub. Laishram Debendro Singh  - Boxing
Mr. Cheteshwar Pujara               - Cricket
Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur               - Cricket
Ms. OinamBembem Devi           - Football
Mr. S.S.P. Chawrasia                  - Golf
Mr. S.V. Sunil                             - Hockey
Mr. Jasvir Singh                         - Kabaddi
Mr. P. N. Prakash                       - Shooting
Mr. A. Amalraj                          - Table Tennis
Mr. Saketh Myneni                    - Tennis
Mr. Satyawart Kadian                - Wrestling
Mr. Mariyappan Para                 - Athlete
Mr. Varun Singh Bhati Para      - Athlete

Dronacharya Award

It is generally said that “Behind every successful man there is a woman”, one can also say that “Behind every successful sportsperson there is a coach” Seeing the valuable contribution that coaches have in the sports field, the government of India decided to honour the coaches as well.

The Dronacharya Awardees are those who have produced medal winners at prestigious international sports events. 

Dronacharya Awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakh, certificate and statuette.

First given in the year: 1985

Late Dr. R. Gandhi             - Athletics
Mr. Heera Nand Kataria     - Kabaddi
Mr. G.S.S.V. Prasad           - Badminton (Lifetime)
Mr. Brij Bhushan Mohanty   - Boxing (Lifetime)
Mr. P.A. Raphel                     - Hockey (Lifetime)
Mr. Sanjoy Chakraverthy      - Shooting (Lifetime)
Mr. Roshan Lal                     - Wrestling (Lifetime)

Dyanchand Award

The Dyanchand Award is given for lifetime contribution to sports development. 

This award is named after Major Dhyan Chand, an Indian hockey player who scored over 1000 goals during a career span of over 20 years. 

Dyanchand Awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakh, certificate and statuette.

First given in the year:  2002


Mr. Bhupender Singh        - Athletics
Mr. Syed Shahid Hakim    - Football
Ms. Sumarai Tete              - Hockey

Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award

To recognise the achievement of persons associated in the field of adventure. 

3 categories for adventure on land, sea and air and 1 award for lifetime achievement.

Monetary Grant: Rs. 5 lakhs

First given in the year:  1993

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

4 categories
(a) Identification and nurturing of budding/young talent

(b) Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility

(c) Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures

(d) Sports for Development

Monetary Grant: No cash award

First given in the year:  2009

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

Overall top performing university in the Inter-University tournaments. (The top 3 universities are given cash awards)

Monetary Grant: 

1. Rs. 10 lakhs
2. Rs. 5 lakhs &
3. Rs. 3 lakhs

First given in the year:  1956-57

ഒരു അഭിപ്രായം പോസ്റ്റ് ചെയ്യൂ

0 അഭിപ്രായങ്ങള്‍